Thursday, 9 May 2024 »  Login
in

company refusing to repatriate me

Problems with inefficient/corrupt officers? Cheated by someone? Complaints about the administration? Get heard by the city here!

Moderator: The Moderator Team

company refusing to repatriate me

by mark » Fri May 27, 2005 10:22 am

Well I kinda saw it coming. the following is a cut and paste of a message i wrote on another forum:

I've been working for a large Indian IT services company for the past 3 years. I've spent about 1.2 of those years in India. This time out I'm under an Indian terms and conditions document, which means I get about 4 lakh a year (in total) and some strap-on clauses to my UK contract. Shitty deal i know, but i was up against a wall at the time.

I've been out here 7 months this time, and a few things happened in my life that brought it home to me that life is too short to waste on a career in IT (or any job which requires 40 hours a week in an office cubicle with a little flickery screen). So I handed in my notice (3 months in this company) and told them to work out the conditions that suited them best in terms of how long they want me around, when they'd fly me home, etc.

I thought they'd appreciate the fact that I had told them I was leaving while on my Indian salary, rather than getting myself sent home and then quitting to serve my notice on the UK wage (this just seemed a bit mean to me)

Anyhow, I got an email this morning to say I'd have to work out my 3 months in India, and also that the company isn't going to fly me home.

I haven't really got a leg to stand on, contractually, apart from 1 document which was needed for my work permit here. it reads "We undertake full responsibility for the activities and conduct of Mr. Mark National of Ireland during his stay in India. If anything adverse comes to notice during this period, we undertake to repatriate him on our cost."